ARIPO Trade Marks

Trade Mark Information

The relevant protocol on trade marks for ARIPO is the Banjul Protocol, which came into effect on 6 March 1997.  The 10 States that have acceded to the Banjul Protocol are:

  • Botswana
  • Lesotho
  • Liberia
  • Malawi
  • Namibia
  • Sào Tomé & Principe
  • Swaziland
  • Tanzania
  • Uganda
  • Zimbabwe

At present, Botswana, Liberia and Zimbabwe are the only countries who have incorporated the provisions of the Banjul Protocol into their national laws and are therefore the only member states in which an ARIPO trade mark registration may be enforceable. The other member states that have acceded to the Banjul Protocol do not have legislation in place to recognise ARIPO registrations.

Accordingly, the most comprehensive yet cost-effective way of protecting trade marks in the ARIPO member states is by filing an ARIPO application designating Botswana, Liberia and Zimbabwe and filing applications through the national registries of the other member states.


General ARIPO Information

International / Regional Conventions: 

  • Berne Convention (all countries are members except Mozambique, Sierra Leone, Somalia and Uganda)
  • Hague Agreement on Designs (only Ghana, Namibia and Rwanda are members)
  • Madrid Agreement on Marks (Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Mozambique, Namibia, Sierra Leone, Sudan, Swaziland are members)
  • Madrid Protocol on Marks (11 countries are members; Gambia, Malawi, Rwanda, Somalia, Tanzania, Uganda and Zimbabwe are not yet members)
  • Nice Agreement on Classification of Marks (only Tanzania is a member)
  • Paris Convention (all countries except Somalia)
  • Patent Cooperation Treaty (all countries except Somalia)
  • WIPO Convention (all countries are members)
  • WIPO Copyright Treaty (only Botswana and Ghana are members)
  • WTO/TRIPS (all countries are members except Liberia, Somalia and Sudan).

Please contact us for further information.